Website
Navigation





Savanna Club Golf News & Events

Attention Golfers:  The golf course will be closed every Thursday morning till 11 AM for maintenance.
 

 


Lesson for the Month

Always continue motion in your swing do not hold motion back. Remember all of your body parts move in the swing but they move at distinctively different paces and speeds. When one part of the body does not move at its correct pace and speed then another part of the body has to over work itself causing bad timing and a major disruption of the swing. Your big muscles move slower than your little muscles therefore they must move first to support the little muscles.
 
Your friendly Pro
Wayne

 

 

Golf Rules

Rule 13-4 Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions (page 65 of the Rules of Golf)
 
Except as provided in the rules, before making a stroke at a ball that is  in a hazard (whether a bunker  or a water hazard) or that, having been lifted from a hazard, may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player must not:
 

  1. Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard;

  2. Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club; or

  3. Touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard.

 Exceptions:

  1. Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction, in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule or (b) places his clubs in a hazard.

  2. At any time, the player may smooth sand or soil in a hazard provided this is for sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke. If a ball played from a hazard is outside the hazard after the stroke, the player may smooth sand in the hazard without restriction.

  3. If the player makes a stroke from a hazard and the ball comes to rest in another hazard, Rule 13-4a does not apply to any subsequent actions taken in the hazard from which the stroke was made.

 
Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush tree or other growing thing.
 
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:  Match play- Loss of hole; Stroke play- Two Strokes.
 
Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2012-2013
 
Rules of Golf: 13-4/21
Rake thrown into bunker before stroke.
 
Question. A player’s ball lies in the bunker. He casually throws a rake in the bunker for the use after the stroke. The rake does not move his ball or improve the lie of the ball. Does the player incur a penalty?
 
Answer. No. Placing a rake in a bunker is permissible. In this case, throwing the rake into the bunker was the equivalent of placing it. If the rake had moved the ball, the player would have incurred a penalty of one stroke for causing his ball to move: and the ball would have had to be replaced.
 
Rule 13-4/34
Touching Bare Earth Wall of Bunker on Backswing
 
Question. In playing from a bunker, a player touches a bare earth wall of the bunker with his club on his backswing. What is the ruling?
 
Answer: The player touched the ground in the hazard in breach of Rule 13-4b. The Note to Rule 13-4 permits a player’s club to touch an obstruction (such as an artificial wall) on his backswing. However, an earth wall of a bunker is not an artificial wall.

 

Happy Golfing,

Wayne